An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

UPDATE:  I am unable to perform ritual today, due to too many college assignments all due around the same time.  I will attempt to perform ritual next week, but I am unsure if I will be able to squeeze it in.  I am only able to perform ritual once a week because of my living situation.

Yesterday, I was thinking that I need to do something to get to know the Nature Spirits better. I feel like I am not very close to Them and that perhaps by building my relationship with Them, I could establish more of a connection to the Land on which I live.  Not only will this relationship be enriching in itself, it will help me complete a couple of requirements for ADF’s basic training, the Dedicant’s Path (DP).

In case you’re curious, here are the specific requirements (from Our Own Druidry, the “manual” for completing the DP):
7.  An account of the Dedicant’s efforts to work with nature, honor the Earth, and understand the impacts and effects of the Dedicant’s lifestyle choices on the environment and/or the local ecosystem and how she or he could make a difference to the environment on a local level. (500 word min)
8.  ONE essay describing the Dedicant’s understanding of and relationship to EACH of the Three Kindred: the Spirits of Nature, the Ancestors and the Gods. ( 300 words min. for each Kindred and 1000 words total)

I had no idea when I started that the nature awareness requirement and the essay on the Kindreds would be some of the hardest requirements for me.  I am realizing that I have no idea how to connect with Nature, the Earth, or the Spirits.  I remembered hearing something about the Naturalists’ Guild study program that would help.  So I took a look at it and found that I can simply ask the Nature Spirits how I can deepen my relationship to them and how I can establish a connection to the Land, which is something I never thought of doing.

I decided that during my devotional ritual today, I will specifically honor the Nature Spirits (really, the Land Spirits where I live).  They will get an extra offering that normally They don’t get.  I will also perform a divination with runes to ask Them how to build our relationship, and similar things.

My next post will be an account of this conversation, which includes:  the prayer I will use to honor Them in ritual, my offering to Them, the Omen (rune) I draw concerning blessings offered as a result of the prayer, and the questions and answers of my divination.

I am very excited to finally figure out how to connect with Nature on a spiritual level!

Blessings,
Victoria

Share your thoughts!

