An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

A look back

I would like to start by wishing a (belated) happy Veteran’s Day to all those who have served in the armed forces. Thank you.

I found myself reflecting on my life’s journey a little while ago while talking to my fiance. I am only about a month away from turning 25, so it strikes me as a little odd that I would reflect in such a way.

I am realizing that so many things happened in such a precise order that I believe I was led to my current path by the Three Kindreds.  The six years I have been in college off and on, the three colleges I’ve attended, my change of major, meeting my fiance, my diagnosis of Asperger’s Syndrome–it is all to lead up to the point when I will embrace the Kindreds wholeheartedly (this will hopefully be around Spring Equinox, when I take my Dedicant’s Oath).

After I graduated from high school, I thought I wanted to be a computer scientist.  After a few years of that, though, I became more and more drawn to the humanities.  Though the black and white of science had always been easier for me, it was the greyness of religious studies (and people in general) that truly interested me.

I switched to religious studies at my third college, after about a year and a half of  computer science.  This was around the time I began practicing Wicca.  Shortly before I switched my major, I had met my fiance and we had started dating.  I really had no idea at the time I would marry him.  I had been struggling with boyfriends for a long time before I met my fiance, which had contributed to my depression.  Meeting him changed my life for the better.  My depression is now more controlled than before.  It doesn’t hurt that he is very supportive of me, especially concerning religion.

My Wicca studies drew me to religious studies as a discipline.  I slowly began to realize that religious studies was not only about religions but the people that practice them as well.  This is important because later that year I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, a form of autism characterized by “black-and-white thinking” and difficulties in social situations.

Through my journey in religious studies, I believe I have learned more about people, society, and ways to relate better to people.  I find myself fascinated with the ways in which people find meaning to Life.

About a year ago, I found ADF. (You can read more about this in my post “Why did I join ADF?”)  This organization has awakened in me a compassion for fellow brothers and sisters on the Druid Path, as well as compassion for other humans in general.  I have become much more generous since I joined (Hospitality is one of the Nine Virtues, after all) and more spiritually fulfilled.  I volunteered for a little while at a local children’s hospital in the first half of the semester.  Working on ADF’s introductory training program (the Dedicant’s Path, or DP) has affected me in so many ways, probably even in some ways I’m not even aware of yet!

This sequence of events seems to have been so carefully planned, but I know I didn’t plan it.  My life has improved so much in the span of six years (I graduated high school in 2006), and it only seems to be getting better.

Hail to the Ancestors!
Hail to the Nature Sprits!
Hail to the Shining Ones!

May the Kindreds impact your life as much as they have impacted mine,
Victoria

Share your thoughts!

