An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

Today I did my first morning devotional using the SDF liturgy (see previous post).  As soon as I opened the blinds, I saw a cardinal resting in the tree outside my window.  I grabbed my camera, but when I went to take a picture, it was gone.  I was thrilled to see a cardinal just before my morning devotions.

I filled my Well, sat in front of my nightstand, and hesitated.  I’m not sure why I did.  I reminded myself that I really wanted to do this, and so I began in a loud and clear voice.

Candle is lit and cauldron is filled.  Notice the sky and tree outside my window.

Candle is lit and cauldron is filled. Notice the sky and tree outside my window.
Picture by Victoria Laughlin, 2013.

 

I read the first half of the devotional about “greeting the sun,” which is what inspired me to get up so early in the first place.  I then paused for a bit and just enjoyed watching the sky become lighter, as it continues to do while I write this.  I noticed my cat seemed mesmerized by the candle’s flame.

I decided to take an omen.  I asked, “Kindreds, what blessings do you have for me today?”  I drew three runes for an idea.

my Omen

Berkano, Uruz, Ehwaz
Picture taken by Victoria Laughlin, 2013.

Berkano is “Birch; strength, flexibility, resourcefulness,” according to Michael Dangler’s ADF Dedicant’s Path Through the Wheel of the Year.  Uruz is “Auroch, drizzle; strength, dross.”  Ehwaz is “Horse, easy and joyful travel, help.”  Obviously the common meaning is strength, which I think means that I was strong in getting up early this morning to do this devotional.  Ehwaz is saying the practice will help me, I believe.

I watched the sun rise for a few more moments, then read the second half of the prayer.  I looked at each of the Fire, Well, and Tree as I mentioned it.

After reading the prayer, I shut off my Kindle that I had been using, and watched the sun rise a few moments more.  I blew out the candle and proceeded to type this post!

I do recall a feeling of peace during the entire ritual.  I feel very blessed by the Kindreds to have been able to experience this.

May you all have such a beautiful start to your morning, Victoria

 

Comments on: "A beautiful start" (1)

  1. This sounds like such a wonderful and peaceful experience. Glad you’re finding something that works well for you!

Share your thoughts!

