An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

In an effort to bring more enchantment into my practice, I have decided to use an interesting form of divination–cards from the game Magic:  The Gathering.  Many cards have a small passage of text, called flavor text, at the bottom as a way to provide background of the Magic universe or simply humor (Knutson).

Flavor text is what I am using for my divination practice.  I believe there are some valuable insights contained within these passages.  I also believe this text is a lot easier to decipher than traditional tarot card or rune meanings.

The cards are divided into five main “colors,” which is a game mechanic.  However, this also relates to my practice.  The five colors are white, red, blue, green, and black.  There is also an additional classification, that of “colorless.”  Each color lends itself to a specific style of play, and therefore has its own meaning.

Blue = wisdom; black = death; red = strong emotion; white = subtle emotion & softer nature; green = rougher nature; colorless = creativity, intelligence

Since there are six “colors” (I know, colorless technically isn’t a color), I am assigning two to each Kindred.  The Ancestors will be represented by Blue and Black; Nature Spirits by Green and White; and the Deities by White and Colorless.

To prepare the cards for divination, I will select 10 cards at random from each of the six colors.  When it comes time to use them for a divinatory purpose, I will shuffle each small deck of ten and draw one from each deck.  The colors will tell me Who is giving me the advice, and the flavor text will be the message They are sending in response to my question.

I can’t wait to try it!

Blessings, Victoria

Forgot the work cited!  I also made the title of an article a link so you can see what the cards look like.

Knutson, Ted.  “Anatomy of a Magic Card.”  Magic:  The Gathering.  21 Oct 2006.  Web. 11 Mar 2013.

Comments on: "An unconventional form of divination" (6)

  1. Sean MacDhai said:

    love it love it love it! very exciting, and enchanting!!! 🙂

  2. Oooh, this is interesting! I look forward to reading about your findings. This could be an Oak Leaves article! Ahhh… the intersection of Druidism and geekiness. 😉

  3. I remember those! I used to play Magic the Gathering in school, when I should have been doing PE lessons! I see no reason why they couldn’t provide interesting divination readings. I’d be interested to see if you have success with them.

  4. […] explanation of the basics of Magic: The Gathering can be found here, and the reflection about the entire rite can be found […]

Share your thoughts!

