An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

On a whim, I decided to look at my copy of Diana Paxon’s Trance-portation:  Learning to Navigate the Inner World and start trying to work through it.

As I read the part about breathing, I could already feel my consciousness changing as a result of being more aware of my breath.  This is probably due to practicing counted breathing before rituals.

After turning the phone ringer off, I lit a stick of sandalwood incense and smudged the room to provide a spiritual atmosphere.  Then I drew a Hammer Sign (or what I think is one, no one’s ever really shown me how) in each of the four directions, towards the ceiling, and towards the floor.  Next time I think I will use a simple Druid sigil as a way of affirming my Druid identity.

I sat down on the floor, cross-legged, and relaxed.  I performed the Two Powers meditation rather quickly (it seemed), and began to chant the rune Ansuz.  I chose Ansuz because it is a rune of wisdom and beginnings.  This foray into trance-work is definitely a new beginning for me.

At first, I began chanting with “ahhhhhn-soooooz,” but that gradually shifted to “ahhhnnnn-soooooooooooz.”  (longer last syllable)  I also tried to draw out the “Z” at the end for a time, but that seemed too awkward (so I just went back to the second pronunciation).

After chanting for around five to ten minutes, I simply sat for a bit and noted that I seemed relaxed and calm.  I closed my eyes and grounded again with the Two Powers (although I now realize I should have reversed the Two Powers exercise).  I opened my eyes and wiggled my toes and fingers as a way of returning to normal consciousness.  I finished up by turning the phones back on and eating some trail mix.

All in all, it was an interesting experience.  I realized there are some things I could do a bit differently, but I feel like practicing will yield some sort of fruit.  I know I must master the basics of trance before attempting to journey.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my experience!

Blessings, Victoria

Comments on: "A meditation experiment" (2)

  1. Chanting always makes me feel relaxed too.

  2. I just ordered that book. It will be interesting to see how it relates to my self-discovered practices. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

Share your thoughts!

