An ADF Druid's trials, tribulations, musings, and victories

I have struggled off and on with feeling connected to my Patron Goddesses, Freyja and Sunna.  I feel like they probably know me better than I know them.  So this morning I did some runic divination to see what I could do to know them better.

The first question I asked was, “How can I get to know Freyja better?”  The runes I drew in response were Wunjo, Nauthiz, and Ingwaz.  I  interpreted Wunjo to be joy, Nauthiz to be oppression, and Ingwaz to be fertility.  I will find joy through oppression and fertility.  I am growing a garden right now, so that helps me become closer to Freyja, but I’m not sure what the oppression would be.  I think I will just continue on the path I am on for now.

The second question I asked was, “How can I get to know Sunna better?”  This time I drew the runes Mannaz, Laguz, and Thurisaz.  I interpreted Mannaz to be the self, Laguz to be change, and Thurisaz to be something painful.  I must experience painful change.  Or at least that’s what I got out of it.  I’m not really sure what I might need to change that would be painful or difficult.  Perhaps I need to start some sort of regular meditation practice.  Meditation in general is difficult for me.

However, a friend suggested that Mannaz means “person,” Laguz means intuition and emotions, and Thurisaz means something sudden or unexpected.  His interpretation was that I should be aware of the sudden appearance of an emotional person, who I presume would somehow help me know Sunna in some way (perhaps teaching).

Honestly, I really have no idea how to interpret the runes drawn for Sunna.  I don’t really get any sort of gut feeling when I pull runes.  My mind is simply blank.  My friend did suggest that I sleep on the runes I pulled for Sunna to trigger dreams that might clarify the reading.  I will at least try it.

Does anyone out there have suggestions or advice on interpreting runes?

Blessings, Victoria

Share your thoughts!

