Daily Devotional, 5/13/18

My devotional yesterday went pretty well.  I lit my candles and then I realized I forgot Freyja’s prayer card as well as some other cards, so I got those off my desk behind me.  Then I began.

I honor my Ancestors.  I specifically mentioned that I honor my Ancestral mothers as well as other specific Ancestors.  I placed the rosemary offering on the lit charcoal and let the smoke waft over me.  Ancestors, what do you want me to know today?  I shuffled the Wychwood Oracle deck three times and drew X – Chaos.  I wasn’t sure how to feel about this card, so I simply placed it on the floor in front of me and moved on.

I honor the Nature Spirits–those of bud and leaf, fur and feather, fin and scale.  I honor all of you.  I placed the offering of lavender buds on the charcoal and let that scent waft over me. Nature Spirits, what do you want me to know today? I shuffled the deck once and drew the Lord upright.  I smiled once I looked up the meaning.  All that time in the garden the day before paid off.  I placed it next to Chaos and moved on.

I honor the Vanir–Freyr and Freyja, Nerthus and Njord, Skadhi and Gerd, Odr and Kvasir, Hnoss, Gersemi, and Gullveig.  And any others I forgot to mention.  I placed the offering of oats on the lit charcoal and let the smoke surround me.  Vanir, what do you want me to know today?  I shuffled the Wychwood Oracle deck once and drew the Stranger, reversed.  Upon reading the meaning, I frowned.  “My relationship with the Vanir is not that good today, it seems,” I thought.  I placed it next to the Lord and continued.

I lit Freyja’s candle and recited her prayer with love and devotion.

Hail to the Lady of amber.  Hail to the Lady of steel.  Hail to the Lady of passion, Bringer of luck, Bestower of wealth.  You are the envy of all the Gods, the treasure of the nine sacred worlds.  Freya, mighty and magnificent, I praise Your name with my Passions.  Ignite within me an awareness of my own creative fire.  Ignite within me hunger, to burn through the pale shadow of my life and find integrity:  in all I do, in all I dream, in all I am.  Bless me, Freya, Lady of the Vanir, and I shall hail You always.  (Prayer by Galina Krasskova, modified to be in the singular.)

I shuffled the Wychwood Oracle deck three times.  What do you, Lady Freyja, want me to know today?  I drew the Crown reversed and set it beneath the others.  Looking up the meaning, I frowned a little bit.  I wasn’t sure what this card meant in terms of my own life.

For your blessings today and every day, I thank you.  May I continue to honor you today and every day.  I shuffled the cards back into the deck one by one and blew out all the candles, leaving the charcoal to burn out on its own.

X – Chaos, XXVII – The Lord, upright, XXIX – The Stranger, reversed, and XXIII – The Crown, reversed.  All cards from the Wychwood Oracle.  Photo by Victoria Laughlin-Casares, 2018.

The Ancestors gave me Chaos.  This card, whether upright or reversed, means change, surprise, and (obviously) chaos.  Another ambivalent card.  I need to work harder on my relationship with the Ancestors it seems.  The Nature Spirits gave me the Lord, upright.  This card represents skill, dedication, and vitality.  This is definitely an improvement from the Lady reversed the day before!  The Vanir gave me the Stranger, reversed.  This is a troubling card.  It signifies caution, intrigue, and disruptive energy.  This means that I need to work on my relationship with them.  Or perhaps they are warning me of something to happen in my life.  Lady Freyja gave me the Crown in the reversed position.  This means obscurity, compromise, balance.  I tend to think compromise and balance are good things, so maybe the Lady is just telling me that things are working themselves out between us.  Our relationship is balanced.

I look forward to seeing what everyone has in store for me today!

Share your thoughts!